MYP (Middle Years Program)

The ASD International Baccalaureate® Middle Years Program is for all students in 6th-10th grade.

Using the MYP framework to provide a solid academic foundation, ASD aims to develop students’ confidence in managing their own learning and making connections between their learning in the classroom and the real world.

The MYP includes study in eight subject areas, including:

  • Art

  • Design

  • Individuals & Societies

  • Language Acquisition

  • Language & Literature

  • Mathematics

  • Physical & Health Education

  • Science

The MYP also includes project experiences in 8th and 10th grades:

  • MYP Community Project (8th Grade)

  • MYP Personal Project (10th Grade)

AHS MYP Personal Project Handbook

In their final year of the MYP, students have the option to attempt the official MYP Certificate. In addition to the Personal Project and Service as Action, the certificate requires a portfolio in Art, Design, or PHE, and six online MYP assessments.